Under the Weather

My body is a battlefield. Judging by the copious quantity and the viscous quality of the stuff that I'm coughing up, there have many casualties. Normally very proud of the military strength of my immune system, I was expecting the war to have been won by now, but the enemy seems to be drawing on countless reinforcements. I don't ever remember feeling quite so weak as I did today. The climb up and down this four storey house has assumed mountainous proportions. I've spent pretty much the entire day in a horizontal position - after going out for a short walk in the morning.

In retrospect that was probably a bit silly but past experience suggested that I'd feel better for some air and some very gentle exercise. And I did feel better for a short while. Being cooped up indoors doesn't sit well with me. But it wasn't long before I realised that I was running out of energy. I'm not used to that kind of experience, being exhausted by a walk of less than a mile! It was quite shocking. The very grey, foggy, heavy weather matched how I was feeling quite perfectly.

Several times I tried to post an update blip for friends and family, and also to try to respond to some of your lovely messages, but my mind was as weak as my body. I was quite unable to string a few words together. So this is being posted a day later. I'm still feeling distinctly rough but considerably better than yesterday. It looks like I've finally got the beating of this thing.

To finish, I must offer up a big thank-you to all those who stopped by to leave good wishes and stars and hearts for my sick selfie. You're all totally wonderful. It made being stuck here in this big house on my own very much easier. It's actually a bit scary how popular that blip proved to be. This should hopefully be a bit easier on the eye. Thanks again blip friends. I really appreciate all your support.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.