Haven

Don't be cross. It's not as bad as it looks. Feeling better, I struck up a deal with myself. If I resisted the desire to be at the computer and fully surrendered to the body's demand to be horizontal then I would be allowed a short escape from my imprisonment to at least keep the mind healthy. The advantage of being incapacitated and having to walk slowly is that you notice a lot more. I found little tracks today that were new to me after exploring this area for over twenty years. I tried to avoid people as much as possible but it wasn't easy because there were so many about. I eventually ended up at this spot, above Rocky Valley, where I don't think I've ever encountered anybody else. It is a little haven. I stopped a while to watch the movement of this really beautiful sky.

I have to admit that the walk back down felt longer than the walk up. On my return I kept my deal and promptly fell asleep for many hours. Indeed, I think I've spent more time asleep this weekend than I have the whole of the previous week! I guess my body is telling me something. I'm listening. I'm listening. I really am! Thanks for all the good advice guys. I am listening to you too.

PS When I left the house I found a little bag hanging on my front door. Muddyshoes had left me a care package of home-made soup and lots of fruit. The broth hit the spot perfectly and, having little appetite at the moment, the fruit was wonderful and very welcome. I'd run out. You're an angel. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.