a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Winterwood

I've had a series of colds for the last few weeks, and haven't felt much like exercise.  When I woke up this morning I finally felt that I was over the worst. So this afternoon saw a longer walk over the nearby hills on the edge of Bath, in the winter sunshine.  I lugged my tripod and a wide angled lens with me, as well as my trusty "do it all" 28-300mm.

The paths were pretty muddy, so it wasn't easy going by any means, and I narrowly avoided unintentionally sitting down in the mud on several occasions as my feet nearly went out from under me..  It is going to take me a while to clean my walking boots, once they finally dry out.  But it was great to be out in the fresh air.  In places, on the northern slopes the ground was still frozen, but mostly it was just wet and very, very soggy.

My route took me  to Kelston Round Top, a distinctive local hill, in the hope of a decent picture for today's blip. I love the small group of trees on the top of this particular hill.  Here, silhouetted against the sky at the end of the day is the result of today's effort and once again I ended up using the 28 - 300mm lens .   

In hanging around waiting for the sun to go down, I ended up having to walk the last 3 miles back across the fields in the dark.  Fortunately I had thought to take a torch with me. My trousers and boots were already so muddy by then, it was hardly going to make things worse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.