A Bohemian's Rhapsody

Dear Diary
This evening I took myself, as you knew I would, to the splendiferous Zorlu Centre here in Istanbul, in fact right here in Istanbul (as in 'just round the corner' really - ten minutes away) to see La Bohème.  It was a bit of a milestone for me, going to the opera/ballet not only without Dad, but without anyone - and learning that me, myself and I provide sufficient company for an evening of arty-farty music (although I did find myself thinking about darling Dad quite often).   The Zorlu  Centre is amazing (my first visit, even though it has been open for more than a year).   Another C21st Istanbul example of tall domes and shiny reflective surfaces on multiple levels.  Mirrors and escalators.  The Performing Arts Centre stage and auditorium is huge and very grand C21st style.  A Cathedral to yesterday's Church.  The production is that of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden and although the plot is particularly absurd - even by opera standards (especially Mimi, lying prone on her death bed, belting out her finale aria in between consumptive bouts of coughing) - the musical performance gave me several transcendary moments of goosebumps and blurred vision. So did the price of a glass of white wine in the interval.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.