ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Role Play

 Since I returned from my trip to Gambia last year, I have been putting a lot of my creative effort into projects with the organisation who took me, Global Hands. Tomorrow is their third year anniversary and the charity has really come on leaps and bounds since; having opened up the Gambia Development Hub only a few weeks ago; completing numerous cultural exchange programmes; launching four books; hosting a range of educational seminars; if not but to name a few of their achievements. Although I’ve only been involved for a relatively short period of time, I still feel quite proud of their impact. Yet, with its development from a singular grass-roots social-enterprise to becoming an international organisation with several chapter networks; it was time for a review and restructuring. As such, today was spent reviewing the organisations achievements thus far,  discussing our future visions and establishing what are we require to do to meet our goals. The general census was that we have a lot more work to do and much bigger boots to fill. 

But I don’t say that as a negative, by any stretch of the imagination. If anything, I think it really is a positive. I’ve recently been enlightening myself to the teachings of Chris Guillebeau, a respectable entrepreneur who has set-up numerous charity organisations across the globe, travelled to every country in the world and writing a guide to non-conformity. Part of what he preaches revolves around self-accountability and competence security. In short; not finding scapegoats to push your excuses on to and making sure you take sole accountability will increase your competency and thus your job security. It all plays a part in fulfilling the roles you want to fulfil to lead the life you want to lead - be a bigger and better person. 

 Yet it’s not all just about self-importance, but playing as part of a team to create somethings that’s bigger than yourself; which is really what Global Hands is all about.  I’ve always been taught that it’s better to be 10% of something than 100% of nothing. Taking on my new role and filling the shoes of a communications director will, I hope, lay testimony to that mantra. Whilst knowing that I’ll be working* alongside other individuals who have the same forward thinking, shared vision and support for one another; who all have just as big a role to play. 


* and having the occasional bit of fun; as you can see in the picture :) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.