North Island Robin

New Zealand has two robins, the South Island which I have blipped a number of times, and the North Island which I saw for the first time today.  The differences are interesting - with our South Island one being bigger, greyer and with a more defined breast.

Today I went to Kapiti Island for the first time.  A bird watchers paradise.  The island is a sanctuary and entirely pest free so the bird life is prolific.  I saw and photographed:
kaka
kakariki
robin
weka
whitehead
fantail
bellbird
tui
waxeyes
tits
kereru 
warblers
Native birds on the island but not photographed by me:
takahe
kokaka
stitchbirds
saddlebacks
kiwi
shining cuckoo
long tailed cuckoo

A brilliant way to spend a day.  I will definitely be going back once my feet are better and I can walk further.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.