horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Je ne Egret rien

Cracking day for a ride out to Aberlady, and the wildlife came out to play. I'd gone specifically to try and find the Long-eared Owls. Saw one (a lovely lady pointed it out to me) hidden in the buckthorn - I got a couple of shots (one linked above) where you can just about make out the face, with the barred tail clearly in view. Honestly, it is there. But the bonuses were (arguably) even better - Kingfisher at the mouth of the Esk (that got chased by a gull at one point) - I'd normally blip a King, but...; Little Egret (the Blip, I just love the yellow socks they have) in the marshes just west of the Aberlady reserve car park; some Ringed Plovers (and another plover that may be a juvenile, but might be something else) with some rather confiding Curlews coming into Cockenzie and Port Seton from the east (one of whom was an imposter amongst the Oystercatchers); Godwits galore; Long-tailed Duck off the sea wall at Musselburgh on the way back (with the tide rolling back in I figured I'd give it another chance, and there he was, hanging around with the Velvet Scoters). And snapped the power station for posterity as well....

Out soon for pizza and chat with fellow former Taiko players. I'll try not to go on about how good Tap on a Tuesday is as a replacement.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.