Books....

Sometimes I do a little tutoring. This afternoon I was with a young lady who struggled with maths. It doesn't help having a younger sister who is so good I give her (at 9) complicated algebraic equations to do.

A few weeks ago younger sister was in class doing her usual maths which she finished in next to no time. Rather than bother her teacher she decided to amuse herself. She got so engrossed in what she was doing that she failed to notice that the teacher was teaching again. The teacher demanded to know what she was doing scribbling on that paper when she was supposed to be listening to her? My little student handed over a page of equations that she had devised for herself and then worked out to perfection!

Her elder sister is catching up somewhat (she's 10) and has worked so hard that she's in the top 20% of the country maths wise. They want me to work with the youngest sister who's 6. I took all these books along to see how her reading was. It's been fun looking through them with her. She does seem bright as a new penny as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.