Through My Eyes!

By kevreid

Jump around!

I had  had an extremely creative dream last night and was desperate to try something new today, I was hoping it would work and I can honestly say this has surprisingly good results.
Ok, so what is it, High speed photography!

It is three drops of coloured  milk  (coloured with some food colouring) dancing about on top of a speaker which was  playing some very deep bass music, So loud in fact that Number 1 daughter ran down the stairs to see what I was up too! in fact she also heard me talking and demanded to know who was here! unluckily for her It was me talking to the microphone as i was recording a tutorial on how I got this image.
Setup.
A speaker with a black balloon stretched over the top, (didn't want liquid getting in) then lay the speaker pointing upwards.
i mixed some milk with food colouring and added this in a few drops on top of the balloon. seriously small amounts!

Set the camera to manual focus and was about 30 cm away. I focused on the spots of milk and ensured the autofocus was off.
Positioned a black background at the rear.
Put a snoot on a flash at 1/16 power and placed it 30 CM to left of camera and aimed it at the drops.
Dialled in ISO 100, F 11, and set speed to 3 second exposure.
Switched off the main room lights and relied on what was left of daylight to see what i was doing.
Switched on some bass music and I turned the speaker up until the milk was just starting to vibrate.
Then activated the camera shutter, turned the volume up really  loud, then timing the first loud beat i pressed a remote flash trigger which fired for a fraction of the exposure time.
Because the 3 second exposure would only record black, the flash froze the milk jumping, as if i had used a speed like 1/6000 exposure. the 3 seconds also gave me time to try and capture the best beat i could.
So quickly looking at the rear view i was amazed to see it worked first time! I setup a couple more and managed to get 5 decent images.

I had to tidy up as we needed the table for tea and when Mrs R came home I was desperate to show my productivity for today! Eldest child got in there first and stated that "Dad gets way to excited in taking photo's" followed by "I think he needs to get out more!"

But Mr R was pleasantly surprised at the results and picked her favourite so here's todays blip!

She also hoped there was still milk left for tomorrow's breakfast. Luckily i used next to nothing as they are very small drops of milk required .

Let me know if any of you try this out too!
May try and get out tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.