Through My Eyes!

By kevreid

Reflections in a drip

After tea tonight , i was putting away dishes when I came across a baking tray, deciding it would probably give good reflections if I poured some water in it, I set up a mini studio on the kitchen bunker. water about 5mm deep.....
I had a small image of the Lion Rampant that i positioned at the end, then i set a flash at 45 degrees to 1/64th power. Focusing the camera on a pencil i held near the middle I then switched to manual focus, F16, 1/250th and pumped the ISO to 800.
Above the tray i positioned a small bag with about 150ml of water and pierced a hole with a needle. it then gave a drip every second or so.
I then just fired away a few shots to see how it looked and this one came out !  So it was on with tidying up the rest of the dishes and loading the pics into the computer.
I like the ripples , but most of all the reflections of the flag within the pillar of water and also in the little drops above the pillar.
I don't have a dedicated Macro lens , but think i may have to invest in one as this is quite rewarding and a macro lens would definitely give me some more experiments!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.