Freyjad

By Freyjad

Heckmondwike Green

This small area of grass has featured in my life for as long as I remember, and has had many incarnations.  The way it looks today isn't as pleasing to me as the way it looked in years past  -  say in my childhood.  There used to be a band stand, a huge fountain, a myriad of beautiful flower beds and in spring lush Cherry Trees.

Nowadays the ornate iron gates and railings have been replaced by ergonomically safer versions and the flowers that bloom here are few and far between.  Years ago this small town was the first to introduce Christmas lights and to a child they were magical. 

I was back here today for an appointment with the podiatrist, and as I arrived early I took the opportunity to blip this scene from her waiting room  -  for me, a quiet little reverie and a stroll down memory lane.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.