Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Eastern Phoebe

I was rather surprised to find this sweet Phoebe when we started out on our walk today. I do see from the range map that they are, or can be, here in Virginia year round, but I am accustomed to thinking of *my* Phoebe pair, which nests annually under our back porch, as going south for the winter. Which they may well do! It's entirely possible that this one breeds much further north, and that ours will come back from their Winter vacation down south as they usually do in March. Who knows? But that said, I definitely don't usually encounter an Eastern Phoebe around here between about September and March. So, there it is. Maybe it's an early Spring? That would be lovely (putting aside thoughts of climate change, of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.