Leftovers

I've been pruning. You're supposed to do the roses when they go dormant, but around here, especially right now in this weird tropical January, there is no such thing. I couldn't bear to put the blossoms in the compost can, so I brought some of the trimmings into the house. I don't normally keep cut flowers around, since The Cat is a nuisance and would only knock things over, but he doesn't seem to care about roses so we get to have these for a treat. They are a little blowsy and faded, but so very lovely.

We've got a couple dozen bushes, and I'm about half way done. I need to be way more aggressive in my cuts, and far less fussy. I know it's good for the plants, and they come back strong, but I just don't have the guts to prune hard. 

Hipstamatic: Lowy lens; C-Type plate film

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.