Kangaroo Paws

The Australian native Kangaroo Paws are actually not native to Wombat Hollow, but we do have a lovely bunch of them growing near the veggie patch.  They make a nice display and I couldn't resist picking a few fresh gum leaves and half a dozen stems of the Paws!

Glad a few foodies enjoyed the Kitchen Chatter and I enjoyed my second round of lamb, beetroot and vegemite sandwich for lunch today!!

The Country Women's Association is legendary in Australia.  There's no way I would ever enter any of my cooking in one of their competition.  For a start they have extraordinary strict rules and honestly there's no way I could compete.  There are some champion cooks in that little lot.

Kitchen Chatter No: 2

Use water to mix a cake instead of milk.  The cake will be lighter and finer in texture.

Cut tiny scones to decorate the top of a mornay.  The raw dough will cook with the mornay.

Slice cheese with a potato peeler to garnish salads.  This looks attractive and is economical.

PS - Not sure which of these I'll try first hmmmmm!!

PPS - Happy to report that as I type the Gang Gangs are creaking again in the trees.  The creaking doors are back.  Yippee - time to get out the velcro and make sure the cameras are at the ready.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.