Mekong Sunrise

Number 2 in the Mekong sun series.

The cabin in the boat was superb,  only spoilt by the generator that had to run all night to keep the air conditioner running.   Despite this I had an excellent night's sleep although Jane was disturbed by the noise.

We woke up still feeling full from the culinary excesses of the previous day.   A light breakfast would have been nice but beef noodles at 7.30am was more than I could manage.  It's common to eat this sort of thing for breakfast over here but it's just not to my taste until lunchtime I'm afraid. I hope the chef wasn't offended when we swapped the bowls for toast and marmalade!

The sunrise was really subtle due to the hazy air.  It's not pollution here but moisture in the air.  It was very atmospheric though, especially as boats were passing us on the river.

I missed a cracking shot of a fishing boat casting it's net against the sunrise because my telephoto was on manual focus so it was blurred :-(

The Mekong was lovely and most interesting.  We are now in Chau Doc near the Cambodian border which we are crossing tomorrow.  Tonight is therefore our last night in Vietnam.  Although we have had less than perfect weather we have enjoyed it.  It is really interesting.  The variety and quality of food is amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.