Goodbye Vietnam

We were picked up from our hotel at 7am for the long speedboat trip to Phnom Penh in Cambodia which took almost 5 hours.  It's amazing how busy the fishermen and farmers are at this time in the morning.  This lady was just outside our hotel.

We had a bit of a problem when we discovered that the Cambodian Entry Visa fee had to be paid in US Dollars.  We only had Vietnamese Dong and there was no ATM at the border crossing.  There was however a currency change point which charged an exorbitant exchange rate.  By the time I converted my Dong to Dollars and paid the Visa fee I was pretty much stripped of cash which led to a bit of an embarrassment when we landed in Phnom Penh and I hadn't got anything to tip the guys who carried our bags from the boat.  They let me know their unhappiness in no uncertain terms but luckily our guide came to my rescue and bailed me out until we could find an ATM.

We are staying in a rather plush hotel - very nice

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.