Birdbath

I heard my phone beep just before 7am but I had already snoozed my alarm twice and was clinging on to sleepiness before the third and final alarm so I ignored it.
When I eventually got up at 7.15am I remembered the text and saw that it was from Mr K:
I've locked myself out and forgotten my train pass! Can you let me back in please?
Oops!
I found him shivering on the doorstep and full of wifely concern hurried him in for a cup of tea to warm him up asked him incredulously why he hadn't knocked or phoned. I may have called him an idiot!
Once he had thawed out a bit he set off on the ten minute walk for the next bus. The Little Misses were very pleased to see him and enjoyed lingering goodbyes.
So lingering that Mr K watched the bus sailing past just before he got to the bus stop and had to trudge home again!
So having spent the past two hours failing to get the bus he ended up coming to school with me and the Little Misses and from there we carried on to the station.
From there I hot footed it to Brackley to meet the lovely Mrs R in the antiques centre. We had a couple of hours wandering, chatting and eating tea and cake. Fab!
Then it was a lazy afternoon at home before heading back to school.
When I got to Miss L's classroom she was sat on her teacher's chair, wrapped in her coat, looking waxy pale and very sorry for herself.
The Little Misses are so rarely poorly that I never fail to over-react and panic!!
She refused her snack in the car which didn't allay my fears!
Against my better judgement I decided to take Miss E to her swimming lesson because I didn't want her to miss out.
Miss L had fallen into a fitful sleep with raggedy shallow breaths. I locked her in the car, bundled Miss E into the changing room, got her changed and then left her with Mrs F to wait for her lesson while I ran back out to sit with Miss L.
After the lesson Miss E got out and changed in record time and we headed home.
Dr Calpol came out as immediately and Miss L snuggled on the sofa watching Team Umizoomi. Ten minutes later her colour was back to normal and she was bouncing around and complaining that she was starving!
Fingers crossed she's fought off whatever it was.
Mrs Z came round for dinner (Mrs G's delicious Thai chicken being introduced to another household!) and it was great to see her as ever.
And show off my new clean and tidy house!
For the first time ever I didn't have to spend hours madly cleaning before having visitors. Nothing needed doing. Amazing!!
It's like a whole new world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.