Sky light for the Traveller

Rather tired we are, but grateful and satisfied. After more than seven hours train journey, we arrived at our new destiny here. Uphill in the Weser river valley. From the North sea to central Germany. Its here we found our second home. Almost seven years ago. And from now on it is our first one. And really, as I am writing these words in my library, to complete this long day, I smile and shake my head. You cannot understand how it happened that we found this place.
I mean: this marvellous place under the Guardian Oaktree. I can feel its presence outside my window. It is the great silence and the deep quietness that reigns here. In the dark silence and quietness is marking this place and its surroundings.

We do not reject or despise the advantages of city-life. Really there is so much to experience which you would miss here. If it weren’t true that the outward bound life on a foresthill over a river valley has to offer so much more of a healthy life-experience. I know, many of you know what it means to live in the country, even in the wilderness. So, let me keep modest. But be it as it may, this happens to be the place we had been searching for years. And we could never have found it in Holland. So, lucky we are and going to sleep early. For tomorrow morning the church bells will ring at seven. Curious we will awake to hear and see the birds and the sky, already a bit lighter than as we left. Our train journey will be almost forgotten. Perhaps the hide and seek of the new sun will remind me. Some glowing radiance amidst a dark cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.