madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Luckett

I was meant to be taking Kess for a walk today - all morning it poured with rain and my enthusiasm for it was sadly lacking! Finally it stopped and putting on my various layers I set out. But Kess was not home alone - Kess was not there at all! Miscommunications! So a walk tomorrow it is!
However as I was all dressed up I decided to go to Horsebridge which has a great little bridge and pub, but on the way I stopped at Luckett - which was lucky! Its nestled at the bottom of 2 steep hills, and was a mining village. I used to take my dog here for walks in the woods and I hadn't been back since my Moonwalk training. For the first time I noticed a very decrepit, overgrown building looming over the village. I think i must usually have been looking downwards and heading in the opposite direction to it as I can't quite believe how I could have missed it! Even with its green camouflage! I set up the next hill to find it and got through a padlocked gate to get quite close. Then got creeped out by its presence and the flocks of ravens/crows that flew up as I approached - wasn't quick enough to get them in shot - just this one later!. I might go back and explore more when I have Kess for protection! I think it was once the Engine House of the New Console mines. There are so many relics of the mining industry around here - looming stacks are two a penny - but have never quite got the photo of them yet - one day!
Couple more of the creepy ruin and  pretty Luckett here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.