Winter Wonderland!

Can you believe we were up even earlier and back in serious sub zero temperatures to the river! Even more magical than the previous day - a positive winter wonderland! There was another photographer there and the three of us went around the area in our splendid individual isolation with  intent and intense focus, photographing every minute and large detail of the transformed landscape! On the way back to the car I started to laugh at the bizarre circumstances - staying with someone I had met on blipfoto, wrapping up like an eskimo to photograph for 2 hours the frost in the  coldest temperature down here all winter, and being totally and utterly delirious with happiness!
Once home Tilly had a photo session on the frosty grass with AH14, then after a delicious breakfast of mini danish and coffee we set forth once more!
We went to poole harbour and sandbanks and I promptly sat on the sand and photographed everything around me, looking around when I remembered to see where AH was - she was here, there and everywhere - I was still in the same spot and she finally told me the plan was to walk along the beach not just sit on it!! We had a warming coffee and chocolate snacks before heading back down for the sunset that wasn't! 
On our return home I showed AH the Slipper Limpets and other shells I had picked up - I have never seen Slipper limpets before. I put them to one side and then heard crackling sounds, looking at them i saw them opening and closing and to my absolute horror realised they were living not empty shells!!!! I felt totally awful and spent ages googling them to see how to keep them alive before returning them to the beach! They are used as bait so the only advice I found was how to freeze them! I put them in an open bag in the garage and hoped for the best! I wonder what will happen tomorrow when the two of us go mad in Dorset once more! 
The winter wonderland can be seen here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.