Hotel Endsleigh

I met up with Gilesey for a walk and lunch at the Hotel Endsleigh - formerly a  Grade I historic house set in 100 acres of fairytale woodland, follies and grottos created by Humphry Repton and used as  a shooting and fishing Lodge it was taken over by Olga Polizzi. I had been there many years ago with my dad when he came to stay with me as he did whilst my mum and sister went off to foreign places, and then also with my mum and sister, and lastly with Friend - but not since it became a hotel.
Although a beautiful day the frost remained in the shady  areas and oh was I pleased I'd got layers and gloves on! So good to catch up with Gilesy and trade insults and laugh - and to do something with a fellow blipper who squealed at the views that really appealed! Sentences would stop without being completed as one or other of us went off on a photographic quest! The only mishap was she nearly got eaten by the giant Gunnera spider! 
Lunch was divine darling! Very leisurely and very delectable - the basil sorbet with a creme brulee was just the perfect finish - we didn't really need the fudge and chocolate roll with the coffee but it was there so had to be eaten!
So busy chatting on the way back I missed the turning and we had to return to mine via Tavistock - but gave us even more time to talk so all good!
I would have blipped the first extra but Gilesey beat me to it! I loved this chair and shadow too so all good! More of the hotel, gardens, the woodland with it's long border and a  shell house are here - and I swear this sculpture is a woman with a chicken on her head! Loved her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.