The Outsider Within

There is always a leader and there are always followers. And then there is the odd one out. That's always been me. Neither at the front nor at the back, neither hiding away nor pushing myself forward. Never one to follow in line, always a little eccentrically skewed from the normal order of things, following in my own quirky way. The outsider within. Who can relate to that? Perhaps we're actually more important than all the leaders and followers put together!

This was a gift from the Gods today, duly accepted in great haste and with much gratitude. I only had a few seconds in which to retrieve the camera from my coat pocket and fling the window open. It has been yet another full on day in the office, certainly not one that offered much opportunity for gazing out the window. What were the chances of me catching this sight when so much of the day has been spent staring into a monitor? I like to think I was given a mystical nudge. They approached in the one narrow band of open sky that I can see while sitting at my desk (you've seen the limited view before!). It felt like a little miracle. I was left agape. One moment that completely made my day.

Can any birders out there suggest which geese these might be? And where they might be flying between? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.