The second half of life..

By twigs

Life Flight

Another day at work with mixed classes.......some of which got me thinking about my return to work next year and what my expectations are........

After all that thinking I needed some exercise to clear the brain. With clouds looming (as they had all day) I headed down to Monaco for what was to be a quick walk round the peninsula. Sadly, before I got there, a squall came ripping through :( I did try a couple of stranded-boat-on-the-foreshore shots but the wind and rain was just too much for me!

This shot was from directly under the flight path of the airport which I pass across on the drive to Monaco....... Boy, do the planes feel close!!

It was only after I downloaded the pictures and looked more closely at the plane that I made an interesting discovery.........this is no ordinary plane! (It didn't occur to me until after I'd taken the pic that NZ only flies Air New Zealand to Nelson, and they're white planes, not red!)

Anyway, if you look closely you can almost make out the words "Life Flight NZ" on the side of the plane. I looked it up on the web and found it's one of just 2 planes in the country who fly medical missions as air ambulances around the country :)

Well, I never knew that! I hope the mission it was on this evening all turned out well for whoever it needed to turn out well for..... They obviously do a sterling job - although I find it a little sad I didn't know of their existence or the work they do. I wonder how many other Kiwis know about this service?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.