I'm sitting now . . .

. . . in my local café in Cairo finalising the second draft of my book for sending to my editor today. I've done some intense work including a Postscript that still needs a little time to settle but I can finalise it when I hear back from her. If I use a car service metaphor, then the engine of the original has been retuned in terms of voice and audience, some body panels have been completely replaced albeit with the same shape and intent, others resprayed and every one polished. I wouldn't be surprised if every sentence has been tweaked in some way or another, certainly a very high percentage. If any of you were to walk round it in the showroom, though, you'd still see the same car and recognise the beat of the cylinders.

I've learned a lot in the process. I also have a deeper understanding of what an editor can bring including identifying areas where the meaning is not clear; 'Everything's clear to you as you wrote it and know exactly what you mean!' she said. She also said her primary role was to make help turn the manuscript into the best possible book. Significant progress has been made in his regard.. I'll brace myself, though, for her next and final critique. Wish me luck!t

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.