I'm sitting now . . .

. . . in my local Cairo café back on the verandah now that the sun has come back to us. It's 26C today and soooo pleasant after the brisk days we've had recently that turned our flat into an icebox.

There's a break in classes at the schools around the block and this place is a favourite haunt for local youths often engrossed in their smartphones, listening to music. Yesterday my shot was of young women, today it's three guys at the table across the way. There are hundreds more kids milling round the square. The birth rate in Egypt is out of control. The population was forty million in 1981. It's touching ninety million today and if the trend continues will reach one hundred and sixty million by 2050.

It's nice to have a couple of hours away from my other keyboard. The ms is off and I don't have a coaching session till midday. Time to sit back and take it all in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.