paperTIGER

By papertiger

Time.

It has been said, 'time heals all wounds.' I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.

-- Rose Kennedy


Two years ago I wrote about a fire I survived nine years before. Today marks the eleventh year and I can hardly believe it. These keys are the same ones from the photo then. I did try and throw them away when I bought a new flat in September -

A fresh start, I thought.
It's time, I thought.
There's no point in keeping them, I thought.

But they were barely in the bin before I'd taken them out again. In fact, I'm not sure they even left my hand. I can't explain why I keep them, maybe because they were the only thing I was able to get before I ran for the stairs. Maybe. But whatever the reason, I think I'll keep them forever.

2013 blip
2014 blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.