temptation

A day which is easily consigned to the dustbin of history. It was going well until my early afternoon dentist appointment for a check up.

Required back in 3 weeks for another check up. Ominous. 

As can happen, in the late evening when I'm too tired to do much else I scan the TV "catch up" sites in the faint hope of finding something worth watching. The news in Gaelic on BBC Alba (pronounced "Alupa"). European rugby in Welsh on S4C. (Don't ask me to pronounce anything in Welsh).

But this Beloved Wilderness on BBC Alba (per the Blip) is a 1960s documentary about the Highlands & Islands Development Board. My Dad spent much of his career there. Suited him perfectly - a teuchter (pronounced "tchookhter", more or less) in economic exile in Edinburgh.

So tempting to watch live. But I haven't paid my BBC tax for 5 years, so I can't watch live TV. 99.99% of the time it's a blessing, believe me.   

Having sung the praises of Vilnius yesterday, I ought to do the same for Rīga. My visits there were less frequent (8, I think) but all memorable for differing reasons. 

I always appreciated their national anthem. Almost as good as La Marseillaise for getting the goosepimples going. 

Dievs, svētī Latviju!

They like big choirs there.

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.