Took the yacht to BETT today.

Rather than drive to BETT at Excel in the Docklands I decided to take my yacht and park up close to the venue. Pity I couldn't as the journey was terrible. I left home at 7.30 and arrived at the venue at 9.59, one minute before the start of the presentation I was attending.

A2 into London was horrendous caused by traffic diverting over the Dartford Crossing because the A12 was closed both ways. Traffic was making use A2 and A20 to get into London. Even off the A2 and on the South Circular to Woolwich I was stuck in that interminable jam up to the Shooters Hill crossroads. Once I arrived in Woolwich and had parked the car, I was over at the Excel Centre in less than 30 minutes via the DLR.

BETT, like last year and every other year I've attended, was just the same disappointment. 95% flogging the latest technology and about 5% engaged in how to use this technology to best effect in the classroom.

Quicker on the way home but still was caught in Operation Stack in Maidstone. This is where a section of the M20 between J8 and 9 is used to park trucks when there is trouble at the docks or Eurotunnel. Makes Maidstone a nightmare and as I was coming along a local route I found myself caught up with the pupils coming out of a primary school. A double nightmare if you are involved in these things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.