Mercury Garage

I've been reminded (thank you Kendall!) that it's a week since I blipped so here's a local landmark in the good old vernacular tradition of corrugated iron, a material that offered a economical way to throw up chapels, scout huts, village halls, sheds and extensions during the first half of the 20th century. There are still a fair few around in Wales and this one is still in use as a  motor repair shop.
Thanks to the research of a local blogger it appears to date back at least to the 1920s when it was Stephen's Garage. Contemporary snapshots  she found show vehicles with 2-letter/4-number registrations of the type that expired in the early 30s.
I don't know when the name changed but I like the association with the fleet-footed, wing-(w)heeled god of travel, speed, messengers and commerce. It was Mercury too who conducted souls to the Underworld so perhaps the name  would serve as a memo to the classically-minded to get your car fixed before his services are needed.

I'm truly grateful for the sympathy and encouragement that has come my way during my period of hibernation/stagnation. I'll try and do better, when weather and circumstances allow. At present my appetite for photography is a bit jaded. There's little in the way of  sparkling frost and ice in these parts, just mud,  puddles and damp fields.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.