Simply Me

By Suze981

Vintage bargain hunters

I've had quite a busy day today. As part of my marathon prep, I've been training my body to go to bed early and wake up early. I need to be up and about 2 hours before the marathon to be able to eat and digest breakfast before I run and not be tired.

In this part of the training, it meant that I was up at 7am today rearing to go. Sainsbury's opens at 8am so I was there by 9 stocking up on groceries. I then decided to head into town to do some shopping for my holidays. I fly off to sunnier climes 2 days after the marathon. I didn't realise that some shops in town don't open till 11 or even 12. So when I got there at 10.30, all was quiet. I got some bits for the holiday and headed home.

This afternoon my parents came over and we went to Judy's Affordable Vintage Fair at the HMV Picture House. It was interesting. It was kind of like a big jumble sale with clothes that I could have just found in my mum's wardrobe (she never throws anything away so has amassed quite a lot of stuff over the decades).

Mum managed to pick up a lovely tweed suit, I got a few necklaces and Ian said the £2 entry fee was a bargain considering how entertained he was. I have to explain this - there were some very strange people there. In particular, one lady was wearing a multicoloured jumpsuit, pink gloves (especially so she didn't have to touch the second hand clothes) white knee high boots and was modelling a dressing gown (of her own accord) People were actually taking photos of her. It was hilarious.

It was a surreal experience, heightened by the crowds and the very dark lighting. I think I'll give the next one a miss!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.