Simply Me

By Suze981

27

This morning I had a meeting in Glasgow. On my way to the Glasgow office, you walk through Nelson Mandela Place.

I am dedicating today's blip to Nelson Mandela and Eddie Izzard. They are both heroes of mine.

Nelson Mandela had an extraordinary life and led the struggle against apartheid in South Africa. I read his auto-biography years ago, and now I feel I need to read it again to remind me of everything that he did and went through.

Eddie Izzard became one of my heroes when he ran 43 Marathons in 51 Days for Sports Relief. You may recall I blipped about him in January. This time he's running 27 marathons in 27 days as tribute to the 27 years Nelson Mandela spent in prison.

I've been following Eddie's progress on Twitter - He started on Tuesday 15th May, so by now he's onto marathon number 6. He hasn't updated his Twitter feed and or Facebook since Friday, but I'm sure he's still going strong. He is probably somewhere in South Africa without Internet access!

If you want to support him and his charities that support disadvantaged people across South Africa, check out this website

So here's to two remarkable men. Nelson Mandela and Eddie Izzard.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.