secret garden

By freespiral

Curtain

Not much dereliction mojo to start with this morning but an unexpectedly pleasant day, an idea and some permission (!) granted we sallied forth. First we had a mooch around the impressively gaunt Fort Lodge but more interesting in my opinion was the little house behind it - now home for sheep. The staircase , apart fom being immensely attractive, felt sound and I had a look upstairs. The deep reds of this little bedroom spoke to me with its leafy curtain.
Even more exciting, there was also an unexplored ringfort on the site too - no-one dares go in, the owner told me. I left the fairies an offering and ventured in. Full of bracken and brambles and helpful animal paths - probably badgers. Stunning views from up here too, an odd calm and silvery blue in the bay.
I then had a swim, jacuzzi and an extra long sauna - extra long because the conversation was very lively today. I was joined by a large man who managed to keep his glasses on without them steaming up. We discussed Russians (he'd once had an odd experience with three tough Russians in this very sauna!!), moved on to Putin, James Bond films (you get our drift?); then on to religion - he'd been reared a Catholic, converted to Bhuddism and was now a humanist; Islam and the 70 waiting virgins was about to be tackled when I got too hot and had to go for a swim! Another chap was in there when I had my final session. The chat now was about the secondary teachers who are on strike today. I said I reckoned a few were in the pool - better to be in here than up the town acting the maggot, he replied. You can't argue with that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.