Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

Busy day

I had a 'day off' today.
I bought some Seville oranges last weekend, and then realised I had negligently forgotten to save empty jam jars over the past few months.
So, off to Lakeland Ltd this morning to see if they could oblige. Fortunately the shelves were well stocked with a large selection of shapes and sizes. I chose some ordinary ones and a couple of stumpy Kilner jars.
Just time for a quick browse around, and some crumpet rings presented themselves. Well, I have been meaning to get some new ones as the old had warped and been thrown away.
And there was a neat bread makers spatula that Rob would like. Oh, and a new waste paper basket for the bedroom - been meaning to get one of those for years....
Having spent enough to buy marmalade for the next decade I returned home and got started. While it was boiling down I tried out the crumpet recipe on the card, and left it to rise as the dogs needed to go out.
It was a lovely light bubbly batter when we got in again, step forward the AGA hot plate to cook the crumpets.
Just tried one straight off the stove, mmmmm, so that's why you bother rather than just buying a packet. Also, the colour is sort of golden rather than pallid grey.
Quite a productive day, if not lazy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.