A flash of blue

We had  lunch at the Inverness botanic gardens . The usual Cobbs café is closed at the moment as a new extension is being built so hot drinks, cakes and soup are being served in the hot house. It was great to be sitting among the flowers and listening to the fountain. It's surprising how much colour there was especially the orchids and birds of paradise plants. 
Mike had a phone call to make so I went for a walk to Bught Park. I was hoping to spot a few birds. The first I saw was a heron skating on the ice, a few mallards, wren, blackbird and of course a robin or two.
The pond was frozen so I walked along to the river. I saw a moorhen and a pair of mallards and although I knew they were there it still came as a massive surprise to spot a kingfisher sitting right in front of me. The lighting was n't good but the 'blue' of it's back was so bright. However 'their vivid colour is iridescence, not pigment - the pigment is actually dark brown.... the feathers on it's back can look blue or green depending on the angle at which they are viewed'.
The one pictured here is female, how do I know, she is wearing lipstick. The females lower beak is coloured orange whereas the males is black.
My excitement did nt end there as it flew onto a branch and was joined by another one. They spoke to each other and then flew off further down the river, a super sight.

We then went to Eden Court to see a fantastic performance of 'The Nutcracker' by the Scottish Ballet. The costumes and scenery were so colourful and our seats were high up giving us an excellent view of the whole stage making it look like it was all taking part in a snow dome.
We could see the orchestra who played beautifully. The dancers were amazing, the lead dancer must have had the longest legs and arms I have ever seen.
It was the first ballet we have been to and we really enjoyed it.

The money for our insurance claim has come through too, not bad seeing as it happened less than two weeks ago. I would definitely recommend John Lewis, Thanks to Brownbuddy's husband for recommending them a few years back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.