From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

It's just another ordinary day.....

I am one of the only people I know who forgets birthdays and anniversaries. I don't do it deliberately but they aren't like luminous beacons on the horizon to me.

I was sent one of those system generated emails from Po-Blip a few days ago telling me I had a milestone approaching. I looked around to see if someone was hurling a rock at me from a great distance but then carried on regardless.

In other words, I am not making a song and dance about reaching one thousand blips. Blipping is a bit like cleaning your teeth. It's something that has to be done - although teeth cleaning occurs at least twice a day and sometimes more - but soon becomes part of your routine and way of life. Sometimes it's a chore but it's OK most of the time.

The guilt keeps you going too. If you've ever fallen into bed after a wild night out only to sit bolt upright in the dark shouting 'Oh no! I forgot to do it!' before running guiltily into the bathroom for your toothbrush fearing your teeth are going to fall out in the night, you'll understand the shivering in your birthday suit with knees knocking like castanets while you take a shadowy picture of a tree branch in the moonlight or your clock displaying 23:59.

Of course, it's enjoyable too. From the minute I wake in the morning, after I've shaken off the memories of a wonderful trip to Dreamland, the next thoughts make me stare at everything I encounter during the day hoping for that picture which will be the nicest or most important thing I've seen all day.

I can't often catch that moment. The tail end of bird or squirrel brush is often all there is. In Ayr, the sun has often slipped into the sea while I was walking round the corner. The ship has sailed or the whistle blew and the door slammed shut. Blipfoto - I will always call it that no matter how many takeovers there are - is often a grisly reminder of missed opportunities and sad times. As it's the only diary I have ever managed to keep in my life, I'll treasure it for both good and bad. It says I'm human and far from perfect but that's OK.

I don't often look back like this little fellow. Forward is the only way possible...

That's it for today.

Track? My absolute favourite Stones number - Time Waits For No One

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.