Lizellens Lot

By lizellen

Hanging out to dry

Both granddaughters went with me this morning to the estuary armed with cameras. As the 10 year old had my former camera, she kindly let the 6 year old use her beginners camera.

We saw spoonbills, godwits, oyster catchers, pied stilts, herons, ducks and seagulls. The girls are fascinated with the story of the godwits flying here no stop each year from Alaska and as well as that, are soaking up any information I can tell them about the birds. As a former teacher, I cant help feeling it is a wonderful way to learn.

On the way back to the car, the eagle eyed eldest spotted a shag on the same branch in the same tall pine tree that I blipped a heron on a few days ago.

The shag posed, wings out stretched, long enough for all 3 of us to take our photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.