... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

A preening swan

I've just backblipped yesterday, and here is another one: a swan preening on Wandsworth Common.
I went to check on the cootlings today, which was fun; the largest ones no longer have any red, orange, or yellow colouring on their heads, and are now about 2/3 the size of the adults! The parents are encouraging them to fend for themselves, but the young are not massively thrilled about it, and kept screaming (surprisingly loudly, and hoarsely) for attention and feeding.
The smaller coots were behaving as usual, but it was nice to visit them. I thought that the brood of 3 had become a 2, but there were 3 of them today which was nice to see. I think that means that the cootling count on Wandsworth Common hasn't diminished since I've been following them...

Anyway, I'm not blipping cootlings because I suspect I've done enough of that for the time being (sigh; expect more soon...); I liked this swan because the water was beautifully clear and glassy, and it made the elegant bird seem all the more sublime.
I was tempted to blip a cheeky robin that got very close to me, but I was just more pleased with the swan photo overall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.