... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Egyptian Geese: attacking or eating?

I went to visit the goslings (still 8!) this afternoon, and they're now so feathery!
They're looking amazing, and have now reached a point where they almost look like little patchy adults rather than small, fluffy semi-related things...

The father was being very defensive today, and kept chasing off other birds as well as chattering when I got even vaguely close. I got some nice shots of him coming in to land after a high-speed chase (of a mallard, not me), but have blipped that quite recently, and thought the goslings would be a bit more different.

I like this picture because it shows not only the developing plumage, but also the gosling's appreciably less pathetic-looking wings. This was as it folded its wings after stretching out; it resumed eating which (I think) makes it look rather like it is roaring at the daisies

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.