My river...

Alex was working today, so I was up at the crack of dawn too - I still like to make sure he has a flask of hot tea and a decent packed lunch, even though I know he could sort it all out for himself. And it means that I can go out for an early morning walk!!

This morning was definitely very cold - wonderfully clear and frosty. I missed the most colourful pre-dawn sky, but there was still some warmth in the high clouds as I walked along the river. The whole of the Rowing Lake and most of the backwater is frozen over now - but the main river is still free from ice. 

It was a good morning for wildlife - I had fleeting glimpses of a young fox, the kingfisher and a little grebe and heard both green and great spotted woodpeckers, the latter drumming. There are always herons along the river, and this one flew into view just as I was trying to capture the first rays of the sun lighting up the willows. 

The rest of the day was spent at the computer, but I've finished the first draft of another report - only three more to go!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.