Through My Eyes!

By kevreid

Cream Explosions

I wanted to use up the rest of the cream from yesterdays stolen strawbery shenanigans so i added a little cream to 3 small pots and then some red, blue and yellow food colouring to them.
Filling up the fish tank to about an inch from the top i positioned a flash gun pointing straight down, and then put 2 further flash guns to either side. all set to 1/64 power.
I put my camera on a tripod and chose below the water line and angled to look up. Through the viewfinder I managed to zoom until, no part of the tank frame was visible. I also removed any visible water bubbles!
I dropped a single drop of cream on the surface and fired a testshot, The cream seemed to float a few seconds before it started to sink, I had set to F16 and 1/250 of a second so the exposure looked allright.
I then used a syringe to apply a short spurt of cream, this broke the surface and took the image, It showed a thin line and a small mushroom cloud effect.
So armed with 3 syringes of red, blue and yellow I set my camera for timer (it gives an audible warning) and just before it was ready to take the photo I set off the 3 syringes of colour.
On review there was slight red visibe on the surface, but the blue and yellow had given a wonderful display.
Into photoshop I adjusted the exposure slightly to get a pure black background and rotated it 180 degrees, this is the result.
I'm slightly mystified as to why the red wasn't so apparent in the picture.
Reason i only took one photo is that about 30 seconds after i'd looked at the result the water was exceedingly cloudy and when i tried a second image, the flash lit too much of the cloudy water, so i decided my first attempt would suffice and gives food for thought on how I may improve the technique in the future. Time to clean the tank!

On checking the upload I also noticed it's my 100th Blip! only 265 to go this year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.