Through My Eyes!

By kevreid

It's Raining indoors!

A couple of fellow photographers visited me today looking for help on product photography, specifically items that reflect light! Not the easiest things to photograph at the best of times but we gave it a bash.

I set up a small studio to show what problems they could encounter. and they viewed the results on a Monitor I had linked up for a tethered shoot.
This shot actually uses 3 studio lights and 2 flash guns.
Not the easiest to achieve with limited light stands , so  I was pleased for the extra hands.
The bottle was placed on a sheet of glass with a piece of black card below it.this allows reflections and shadows to be captured, then a green backdrop was placed about 2 feet behind the bottle to give some lovely contrast.
We set a studio light at 1/4 power to the left and right of the bottle to enhance each edge of the bottle, and aimed these slightly towards the background, we then placed a flash gun at 1/2 power on the floor and aiming at the backdrop . from behind the backdrop we set the third studio light above the whole setup  to illuminate the top of the bottle.
The remaining 2 flash lights were held by my helpers either side of the camera and at 1/128 power, just to give the front label some nice lighting.
Lastly I used a water sprayer on mist setting to replicate rain. a few squirts the pressed the shutter.
The result is a bit more visually appealing than a shot without the spray and actually made my visitors ask for a bottle opener as a reward for getting some really nice shots!

I wished them some luck in their photography with their own bottles!
Overall a fun wee session.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.