One over the mallard

Woke and thought about going out for a run to get the sunrise from along Erceg's Way. Before I could decide, it was 45 minutes later, and the sun was risen as were Tsuken and the little tsukens. So I sauntered around all morning until it was time for them to leave for the airport, with us following bringing their biggest bags. 

While quietly driving along the motorway into the City, an idiot in a nicely maintained 1935 US car abruptly changed lanes in front of me by a few feet. My reactions remain quick, and by braking I avoided rear ending him (had to be a him being so idiotic). Unfortunately S got jerked and twisted her back, and remains in pain this evening.

Lunch at the airport with the tsukens, and a farewell photo as they left the public area into the customs area. Then we drove back, via the apartment where we left the car that we had loaned the tsukens for their stay.

Back at the beach house, I helped S get comfortable (rhubarb cordial, heat pack and reading material, and Jesafly and I went down to Snells Beach to look for kuaka (godwits). Eventually saw a few right out at the very edge of the turning tide as it was starting to come in. 

More pleasing for me was that I saw my first Taranui (Caspian tern) and got a couple of decent photographs. This one appealed the most because of the inclusion of a mallard duck. It is possible to distinguish this from a parera (native grey duck), because the facial markings are not as strong, and the speculum is purple with broad white borders. The reflection of the mallard sealed it for me.

The head and beak of the taranui are not easily seen, and viewers must take my word that this has been clearly identified. I will post the identification photo in blipfolio.

Toasted cheese sandwiches and a glass of wine was all any of us wanted this evening, making it an easy meal for me to prepare.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.