Pink sunrise Calton Hill

Another wintry walk to work, another amazing sunrise!

Recently there have been some staff moves at work. Amongst these my boss of the past five years has been promoted and replaced. With my three fellow research centre directors, I attended my first meeting with our 'new' boss this morning. He's not really new to us at all: until quite recently he was our old boss' boss, and I used to report to him directly when I was responsible for all the research students in the faculty. This is how we play academic musical chairs...

This afternoon I attended a research seminar on political blogging (the speaker is the voice behind EdinburghEye), then had a good discussion with a research student on how to strengthen her writing to make more explicit the scope of her work as a study in the field of information science. Afterwards I took her, three other research students, a research felllow and a lecturer for a Friday night drink before we all headed home for the weekend.

Exercise today: morning loops in 28'56", sit-ups, weights, walk to work in two sections, stopping off on the way to see my Friday morning networking group (just over 1 hour).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.