X-country on the Mountain

Today it was very windy and snowing hard and I hadn't slept enough hours. If I'm quite honest there was a slight element of hangover too. On these trips we deal out responsibility for the food. Jan and I do the breakfasts (up first every day), 4 others do Friday night's dinner, and the final 4 do Saturday's evening meal. So last night was a three-course feast with different drinks for each course.
Because of the wind and snow Björn and I decided to ski cross-country, up through the forest, onto the bare mountain, and finally to a cabin where they serve coffee, waffles with cream etc, all cooked over a wood stove because the cabin has no electricity. If you are visiting Vemdalen I'd definitely recommend a trip to Jaktstugan (the Hunting Cabin).
It was a hard sweaty ski up but once there it was lovely to sit in a room warmed by a wood stove and a fireplace, and to look out of the windows at the snow covered mountain. There were plenty of people there. Some had come up by snow mobile, others had skied up like us, and some had ridden up in a tracked vehicle with a tiny cabin.
Once we'd drunk our coffee, dried off and admired the view we skied down the mountain, which went very quickly compared with the journey up.
Back at the car I discovered I had no wallet and was fairly sure I'd dropped it in the cottage. I was right. After a phone call and a chat to the driver of the tracked vehicle and an hour's wait, the wallet arrived at the car park with the said vehicle. Much better than skiing all the way back up! Full points for helpful and honest people visiting and working in Vemdalen.
Someone had found it, passed it to the woman serving waffles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.