a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The Invisible Man

Frankly, Mr Shankly, this position I've held
It pays my way, and it corrodes my soul
I want to leave you, you will not miss me
I want to go down in musical history


Frankly, Mr Shankly - The Smiths

Today's blip was taken in Bath's shopping centre.  It struck me as I wandered about, how very adept we become at not seeing those things we do not want to see.  This man holding up his advert might as well have been invisible to the vast majority of the shoppers who rushed past him.  

It makes you wonder why anyone thinks that it is worth employing people to do this sort of job.  But I am sure that those whose circumstances force them to do it, are pretty poorly paid.  

The look of boredom on the poor chap's face says it all.

I should have used a tripod, but did not have it with me, so this shot was handheld, with a long 1.6s exposure.  It is not as sharp as I would wish, but pretty good in the circumstances! I did manage to brace the camera against a piece of street furniture and took a series, of which this was by far the sharpest.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.