Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Before sunset

Gavin kindly took my camera to Gray's of Westminster yesterday to trade it in for the new Nikon D810. I had been thinking about it for some time but as they were offering such a good trade in deal (until 4th February they are enhancing trade ins by £300) and as I realised that my camera was soon going to be too used to get a good trade in, it was a good time to do it. They were very surprised at my shutter actuations of nearly 23000 frames - for a camera that was nearly 3 years old they said that was very high for a professional photographer, and extremely high for a camera enthusiast - I do take a lot of photos! It needed a new rubber grip which had worn out and a good clean but they still gave me an excellent deal.

I was very keen to use the new camera today at Thomas' hockey match, but the venue they were playing at had a pitch that was totally surrounded by a high thick wire fence, and it was impossible to get any decent photos through that fence.

On the way home, I asked Gavin to drive past a certain spot so I could see the sunset but we were a little early for the sunset and I did not want to wait around for half an hour as I had things to do at home - so this is my 'before sunset' shot.

Now I am about to make a new Mary Berry recipe of 'Spanish chicken' for supper, and a quiet night in lies ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.