Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Selfie Sunday

Today I decided to practice lighting, and as the boys were not willing models I had to do self portraits. I just could not get the focusing right and eventually after quite a few shots Adam took pity on me and came over and helped with the focusing while I was sitting in position.I could then carry on getting different shots in different lighting setups (provided I sat back in the same spot so the focus did not alter after each time I got up to change the lighting). I initially wanted something in low lighting with shadows, but soon realised that it is only flattering on a young, clear skin!!

We had a debate about GCSE options as Thomas was being quite stubborn about what he wanted to choose. In reality most subjects are compulsory so he only has a choice of 3 subjects and he has chosen Latin & Greek, German and Music (which he has to take as he is a music scholar) The debate was over German or Geography...he plans to do the sciences for A levels and I thought Geography would be more useful in case he wants to read Earth Sciences one day. His school is very academic and they do not offer any 'soft option' subjects, but interestingly this year they have given the pupils taking Art a choice between Fine Art and Photography.

Gavin leaves tonight on yet another business trip, this time he is going around the world in 5 days - London, Singapore, Tokyo, Los Angeles and back to London. I wonder what Jules Verne would think of that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.