Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

#GetYourBellyOut

I wasn’t looking forward to today, I just wasn’t in the right frame of mind to represent an IBD Awareness Group called Get Your Belly Out, but by the end of it I’ve had a great day!

Get Your Belly Out is an inspirational awareness campaign about Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD) such as Crohns and Colitis, there are others.  It’s been brilliant, and has gone global and has not only raised awareness of the disease but has also raised money for charity, by the end of last year it was over £20,000.

Today’s event was organised by a Healthcare company which provide stoma pouches etc for people who’ve had bowel surgery, so there were cancer patients as well as IBD patients.  It was great to discuss the campaign with people, and just the name itself attracts people in to ask the question what it’s all about.  There were also some heart-breaking stories, so if you have your health make sure you live your life and enjoy it, because you don’t realise how lucky you are.

I helped a number of people today by talking to them about their situation, showing them that they can still lead a normal life and having a stoma is not the end of the world.  For example two people were scared that they could no longer swim, but having discussed it with them and pointed them to the professionals they realised that they could still exercise.  There were other people as well, and to see them smile and the relief that life could still go on gave me a warm feeling and I was glad I could make a difference.  I even got thanks from people for just being there and raising awareness.

I’m just me.

 

In other news I got a text from work this morning about an accident last night.  My stomach dropped and I felt sick, but luckily it appears no one is hurt.  Life can be taken away in a second, so take heed from my advice above and live your life.

 

BACK BLIP:

Tuesday - Up Norf

Wednesday - M25 Army

Thursday - Strangers in the Night

Friday - Guardian Angel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.