Freyjad

By Freyjad

River Calder

Today (due to the snow) is really the first time I've been able to spend any sort of time walking or being outdoors and I've felt quite confined, so it's been wonderful to get out and have a bit of exercise today.  I found myself as I often do at the nature reserve, but today I took a different path towards the meadow and saw the specially constructed habitats made for various birds and animals;  among them ponds, streams with dams and an open area with lots of tall grasses.

It was wet and muddy and I didn't see any unusual wildlife, but I did spot four twitchers in the bird hide;  no room for me today I'm afraid, as the space was taken up with tripods, haversacks flasks of tea and goodness knows what else.  They're a great set of people though, and I'm sure they'd have squeezed me in if I'd asked  -  maybe it will be less busy next week. :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.