Muttley's Musings

By RuralDave

Extreme Edale

So far this winter I have yet to see a snow flake, let alone settled snow, so I decided to head out searching for snow. I decided to head to the Peak District and Edale as I was sure that there would be some snow there. I got parked up in the National Trust car park at Mam Tor. What I really didn't bargain on was the wind! It was really strong in the car park, but I got my self togged up and set off.

I slipped and slided my way up the icy path to the road, and then I scrambled up the snow and grassy slope of Mam Tor as the main footpath was almost totally polished ice. On the first ridge there were tremendous views, but also tremendous winds. I was being blown backwards, and my tripod was going to be blown over if I hadn't caught it. (The camera was still safe in my bag).

I ended up dropping to my knees and crawling up to the brow of the ridge so I could see over into Edale while sheltering my body a little. I took the pictures for this panorama and then retreated to a lower level. I think these were probably some of the worst conditions that I have tried to take photographs in. This is the view of Edale and the Kinder Massif from the ridge between Edale and the Hope Valley with Lords Seat on the left and the summit of Mam Tor on the right of the ridge

I was amazed at the fell runners who ran down from the summit of Mam Tor without much concern for the icy conditions.

After some productive photography and a chat with a fellow photographer who was testing his winter clothing in preparation for a trip to Iceland in March I headed down into Edale and went to fabulous Penny Pot Cafe at the railway station and had a wonderful cooked breakfast for my lunch.

In the afternoon I called into Hathersage Moor and walked to Over Owler Tor and got some pictures although there were more people here and less snow.

Perhaps worth a look large and against the black

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.